The day my cat saved my life

In more ways than one, she’s been my lifeline through the last few years. But there’s one day in particular that she saved me.

A little over a year ago, my mum came home from work late one night to find our cat meowing outside my door. It’s not normal for my mum to check on me when she gets home as it’s usually quite late but on this particular night, my cat’s behaviour concerned her. She opened my door and found me unconscious after a suicide attempt. If she hadn’t checked on me that night I may not have made it through. My cat saved me and allowed me to get treatment before my body starting failing.

A few nights ago, I had an incident with self-harm. I heard a noise at my door; my cat was outside meowing and wouldn’t stop until I let her in. She then proceeded to make herself comfortable on my bed and curled up against my chest all night long. The physical contact with an animal is often used as a therapeutic technique and remembering her beating chest and purs against my skin, I can imagine why. There’s something reassuring knowing that you are not alone in the world.

Now, this might seem normal to a lot of you but my cat knows that I am a restless sleeper and prefers to sit on the end of my bed. So the fact that she chose that night to curl up with me makes me think that she knew I was having a hard time and that I needed her. Her intuition was spot on.

I’m so grateful for her. She is my rock. My companion. My saviour.

One thought on “The day my cat saved my life

  1. My cat saved my life many times back in the day. When he passed it crushed me so much I had to get rid of nearly all the pictures of him. It was a hard decision to decide to no longer have any pets, meaning cats. I’m going nearly all day plus had too many physical issues at that time. Those have resolved but I’m just not home enough. I hope someday to have one but it won’t be anytime soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

